What Happened Was This.

I know you guys have been waiting for Hunting Witches. I’ve been looking forward to having y’all read it. I like it. I think it’s funny and disturbing. But, see, what happened was this.

I got promoted to managing editor of Popshifter. I love writing for that site, and I have a good working relationship with Less Lee Moore, the owner. It seemed like a natural progression and I was happy to take on that extra responsibility because I love that site is if it were my own.

Then, I started writing for Dirge Magazine. If you’ve not heard of Dirge, they’re a magazine all about dark culture. Necrophiliacs and fashion, home furnishings and home surgery, all kinds of that weird fringe stuff I gravitate towards. I had been there two months when I got promoted to contributing editor there!

Lucky me, lucky mud. Lucky to be doing things I love with people I enjoy.

Somewhere in the middle of that, Cootie moved from her job at the front desk to a project manager position. She’s developing websites now, working with customers to help make their digital dreams a reality.

Our workload just increased tenfold. Conversely, our energy level has diminished tenfold. At night, instead of diving into a load of formatting and editing, we really just want to hold hands, drink and watch bad television.

So what happened was this.

I submitted Hunting Witches to a publisher. I’ve never done that before, and it was a little scary. I have no idea if they will accept the book. I won’t know until sometime around May.

It’s a delay. And I apologize for that. But it could also be the best thing that could happen. Consider better exposure for the book. A nicer edition for you to read. A manuscript edited by a real book editor, not me, drunk at two in the morning. If they accept the book, I think we will all be happier with the finished product.

If they don’t? Well, I’ll submit it somewhere else. It’s time for this move. As the Good Doktor once said, “When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro.”

And I am, after all, a professional.

Although I’m not quite sure when that happened.

What Happened Was This.

Leave a Reply

