Shadows, Witches, and the value of patience.

Hi.
I don’t post here much, because I can’t report any news when there is none to report.

That’s about to change.

As always, bear with me.
I’m making a point.

If you keep up with the publishing industry or writers in general, you’ve heard about the dissolution of Booktrope, the hybrid publishing company that a lot of indie writers thought was going to change our world. Hell, I sent them my novel. Why not? I was going to get my own editor, my own creative team and we were going to work together as a cohesive unit to get the book out there and make it a hit. Well, at least a cult favorite.

They never read it, as far as I know, and the waiting for an acceptance or rejection letter became unbearable. I know now that letter will never come. How anti-climactic. And people were mad at the ending of the film version of “No Country for Old Men.”

As it turns out, I got off easy. Some of my friends were suddenly left without a publisher, groundless, wondering what the hell to do next. I feel for them, but we’re indie writers. We’re a hard breed to kill. And when we want to unleash a story on the world, we find a way. We always find a way.

That’s the backstory.
Here’s the action.

I am lucky enough to have been picked up a new publishing collective called Shadow Work. This is a tremendous step for me, and I am grateful for the support I’ve already received from them. It may never be a huge company, but it’s a good company, populated with people who are open to ideas and love a good story as much as anyone.

Then again, it may be a huge company someday. What do I know? I’m just a writer.

So what does this mean for me and, more importantly, what does it mean to you, the Keepers, my readers?

Two things.

On Monday, May 16th, I’ll be pulling my biggest seller, “Black Friday,” off of Amazon/Kindle for a while. Shadow Work is going to repackage it, give it a shiny new cover, and reissue it as a special edition with at least one new story included to sweeten the deal. This is necessary, not only to reach a wider audience, but because of Thing Two.

Shadow Work will also be publishing the first full-length Elders Keep novel, “Hunting Witches.” We’re shooting for a late June release. This book has been finished for months and gone through many iterations. I’ve been holding onto it for so long, I feel like a pregnant woman gone far past her due date.

Time to induce.

It’s going to be a busy summer for me. I have three new stories I can’t wait for all of you to read, and some good folks to help me get them into your hot little hands. It should be a busy year for you as readers, also. Shadow Work is going to be bringing you the kinds of stories you crave: dark, twisted, with the kind of weird humor you enjoy.

Get ready, Keepers.
You’re about to revisit the small mountain town of Elders Keep in a major way.

Thanks for your patience. It’s about to be well rewarded.

X

Shadows, Witches, and the value of patience.

Leave a Reply

